Student Award Winners Select Competitions 2012-2018

2012 - 2013

American Advertising Federation Most Promising Minority Students ProgramMariha Chowdhury – national finalist

Pennsylvania Associated Press Broadcasters Association Medium and Small Market Radio

Jon Blauvelt, ComRadio – 1st Place Enterprise/Individual Reporting

Hearst Foundation

Savannah Smith – 1st Place Multimedia

Associated Collegiate Press National Awards

Anna Orso – Reporter of the Year

EcoCAR 2: Plugging In to the Future Competition sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy and General Motors

Top honors Best Communications Plan; Top honors Best Media Report Team including Comm students Andie Ashbaugh, Cheyenne Sexton, Becky Szwak, Maia Turconi, Lotus Zhou

2013 - 2014

2013 Student Photographer of the Year, North Carolina Press Photographers Association

Jill Knight

Hearst Foundation

Christina Gallagher – 1st Place Personality/Profile Writing

American Advertising Federation Most Promising Minority Students ProgramSarika Patel – national finalist

Broadcast Education Association Festival of Media Arts

Johanna Rojas - Television News Anchor: 1st Place: The Pennsylvania State University; *Johanna Rojas Anchor Reel*

Society of Professional Journalists - Region 1 Mark of Excellence Award Winners Newspapers

John Stuetz; John McGonigal – 1st Place Breaking News Reporting Newspapers

2014 - 2015

National College Television Emmy Awards, Hollywood, CA

Christian Heilman, Rachel White and CCR team – Outstanding Magazine Show Emmy for "Centre County Report in Cuba"

National Student Advertising Competition (AAF)

The Nittany Group, Team for Pizza Hut, 3rd-place finish at District Two Co-chairs: Janelle Klueber, Emily Ullmann

American Advertising Federation Most Promising Minority Students Program

Jacqueline Lozano, Aizya McGee

Society of Professional Journalists - Region 1 Mark of Excellence awards

Akash Ghai – winner, breaking news photo

Student Keystone Press Awards (Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association Foundation

Eric Shultz – 1st place, general news reporting

2015 - 2016

IABC Gold Quill Awards

Winner, Communication Training and Education: "Rebranding an Urban Community" Team members: Laica Clerge, Terrence Edison, Taylor Fowler, Sam Newhouse, Emily Shea, Kristin Starke, Casey Weaver

National College Television Emmy Awards, Hollywood, CA

Centre County Report, November 20, 2015 - Video Award Winner

Scripps Howard Foundation

Zinnia Maldonado - Roy W. Howard National Collegiate Reporting Award

Mid-Atlantic Emmy Award

Centre County Report, March 20, 2015 – Newscast Winner Zack Rickens and Meghan Caffrey – Sportscast Winner

Student Academy Awards

Caroline Miller – Semifinalist Video

2016 - 2017

Penn State Multicultural Resource Center Student Leadership Award

Anita Nham

Broadcast Education Association Festival of Media Arts

Kesly Salazar - National Award of Excellence, TV Anchor

BEA Super-Regional Conference

Caroline Miller - 1st Place Student Documentary

Mid-Atlantic Emmy Award

Nick Serricchio - 1st Place, College/University Student Production - Long Form: Fiction

CLGBTQE Emerging Leader Award

Nadia Souada

2017 - 2018

American Advertising Federation Most Promising Multicultural Student

Hannah Kratky

Mid-Atlantic Emmy Award

Samantha Goldstein - Anchor

Hearst Foundation

Alison Kuznitz – 3rd Place National Writing Championship

Student Keystone Press Awards (Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association Foundation)

Frank Esposito – 1st Place, Ongoing News Coverage

Society of Professional Journalists - Region 1 Mark of Excellence Award

Antonella Crescimbeni – 1st Place General News Photography